Hello all! I know it's been forever, but we're still here. You know what else is here? Prom season. If you're a guy, you might not realize that, but if you're a girl, you are most likely well aware that prom planning is in full swing. Don't worry guys; you aren't behind on anything. We're only freaking out about the real reason we go to prom right now: THE DRESS. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, ladies, but isn't that what prom is really all about? Dates are fun, but you forget them soon enough. The limo is cool, but it's really just a tricked-out, tiny bus. Dinner is lovely, but did you really need to make your poor date (what was his name again?) spend $20 on a salad? And as awesome as that mani-pedi looks, it's chipped two days later. The dress is what you want to show your daughter in 30 years. The dress is forever. This being said, choose wisely, ladies! Those of you who know me know I attacked Nutty's facebook wall yesterday with links to hideous prom dresses for sale this season, along with snarky comments. I spent HOURS on the internet, and these monstrosities just kept coming. It concerns me that awful dresses like this are so easy to find. A few simple hints to get a dress you won't regret when you look back at the pictures: 1) Go for something that fits your style. It makes no sense for a bubbly, happy girl to buy a boring, dark, dull dress, or visa versa. 2) If you think it might be tacky, IT PROBABLY IS. The short skirts are cute and fun, but why pay prom-dress-prices for homecoming dresses? Also, I don't care who you are, CUTOUT DRESSES ARE AWFUL. And quit print-mixing. It's not interesting, just chaotic. 3) Careful with the price range. Don't overspend, because you'll wear it once. Don't underspend, because this is one of the most important dresses of your life. :)
I hope this was helpful! I missed typing my silly opinions to you. Less than 3 months left!!
P.S. Guys, start thinking about how you're going to ask someone to prom. I'll tell you right now, I want to see some original ideas this year. No more chalk in the driveway or paint on my car windows. Get creative, gosh darn it!!!!!!!!!!!